Sydney city map

Map of sydney city. Sydney city map (Australia) to print. Sydney city map (Australia) to download. The City of Sydney is the Local Government Area (LGA) covering the Sydney central business district and surrounding inner city suburbs of the greater metropolitan area of Sydney, Australia as you can see in sydney city map. The leader of the City of Sydney holds the title of the Lord Mayor of Sydney. Suburbs within the boundaries of the City of Sydney before the merger include the actual downtown or central business district of Sydney itself, Pyrmont and Ultimo to the west, Haymarket to the south and Woolloomooloo to the east and other suburbs. On 6 February 2004, the former LGA of the City of South Sydney was formally merged into the City of Sydney. The CBD is roughly bounded by Circular Quay and the Harbour to the north, Macquarie Street to the east, the Western Distributor to the west and Liverpool Street to the south. Suburbs within the City of South Sydney before the merger included Alexandria, Darlington (now mostly occupied by the University of Sydney), Erskineville, Newtown, Redfern, Glebe, Waterloo, Paddington.
As of 2010 there were 182,226 permanent residents and a daily average of 26,000 accommodation visitors bringing the total population of the City of Sydney to over 200,000 people as its shown in sydney city map. According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics: an increase of 4,488 people over the year to 30 June 2010, the 3rd largest population growth in a Local Government Area in New South Wales. It was equal to 4.3% of the 105,421 increase in the population of New South Wales over the same period, was, in percentage terms, an increase of 2.5% in the number of people over the year to 30 June 2010, the 9th fastest growth in population of a Local Government Area in New South Wales. In New South Wales the population grew by 1.5%
The name Sydney comes from "Sydney Cove" which is where the English admiral Arthur Phillip established the first settlement, after arriving with the First Fleet as its mentioned in sydney city map. On 26 January 1788, he named it after Thomas Townshend, 1st Viscount Sydney, who was the home secretary at the time, and the man responsible for the plan for the convict colony in Australia. The "City of Sydney" was established on 20 July 1842 by the Corporation Act which encompasses present-day Woolloomooloo, Surry Hills, Chippendale and Pyrmont, an area of 11.65 km². Sydney City Council is composed of ten councillors, including the Lord Mayor, elected proportionally, for a fixed four year term of office. The current General Manager is Ms. Monica Barone.
There were six wards established by boundary posts. A boundary post still exists in front of Sydney Square (see sydney city map). The boundaries of the City of Sydney have changed fairly regularly since 1900. The Municipality of Camperdown was merged with the city in 1909. Added in 1949 were Alexandria, Darlington, Erskineville, Newtown, Redfern, Glebe, Waterloo, and Paddington. In 1968 the boundaries were changed and many of these suburbs moved to be part of a new municipality of South Sydney. South Sydney was brought back into the city in 1982, but became separate again under the City of Sydney Act of 1988 and then became smaller than its original size at 6.19 km². It grew again in February 2004 with the merger of the two council areas, and now has a population of approximately 170,000 people.